Peanut butter blondie Thursday

Brownies are not my great speciality. I have actually never prepared a brownie for the visitors, because I simply do not produce the perfect texture, the combination of moist and chocolaty structure, the way it should melt in your mouth but without being too sticky or over baked. I still had some peanut butter to use up, so I took out my Jif jar, Googled for quite some time and the decision was unanimous. I have to try a blondie. An improved blondie. Peanut butter blondie 😀

I have been impressed by the following blog. The writing, the guiding through the recipe, I bow to the author. A pleasure to read and an inspiration to all the home cooks out there. If you have a minute to spare in your day, please, give it a go. You will gobble down every single thing she wrote and cooked.

Peanut Butter Blondies

Naturally, there are many pages with the “improved” blondie versions, but I found this one by far the most exciting and easy to follow. Ingredients were not sophisticated, but the photos looked so tempting. I told you-the decision was easy. Of all the dough ingredients you will only need:

  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup light brown sugar (I used demerara sugar with a sand like texture)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup peanut butter
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

You mix softened (not melted) butter with the rest of the ingredients. I use an electric blender. Far to sticky for me to do it by hand 😀 Once you have it mixed spread the mix over a sheet of parchment paper, leave it at about 1 centimetre thick layer. Bake in a pre-heated oven (160°C) for about 15 minutes. Take it out as soon as it is solid and a toothpick stops sticking to the dough. I probably do not have to tell you what happened to the first 2 batches…I will only give you a hint. I had to wait for the third batch not to break my teeth eating a solid hard peanut butter cookie from the first two over baked batches 😦

I was also craving some salty caramel, so I only melted some salted butter (or normal and you add salt while melting) in a pan, added a hint of sweet cream and some spoons of crystal sugar. After 8-10 minutes it thickened and I got some amazing caramel candy to drizzle on top of the peanut butter glory from the last, most successful batch.

That was my first blondie and I will simply add one advice…if you do not excel at brownies and chocolaty dough…go for it. It will make you feel like a pro. It made our forthcoming weekend much more desirable. Ummmmmm Good appetite!

 

 

Leave a Reply

