Cinnamon twisted snails :D

I have been waiting for this expedition for a long time. I adore pumpkin spice. I adore apple desserts. Gingerbread. And the key denominator of them all is – cinnamon. For 4 years in Madrid I have lived next to the Canel rolls shop in the nearest shopping centre, La Vaguada (which I adore, BTW 😉 )

http://www.enlavaguada.com/index.php?f=tiendas

And as you already might have read, part of my family in law lives in NY. It was only a matter of time when I would come across some home made cinnamon rolls. I have never tried them from the Canel rolls shop in Madrid though and I am planning to do it during the upcoming Summer vacations in Spain.

Inicio

I  also did not try the original cinnamon rolls when visiting our relatives in NY last Winter holidays. So it was time to do something about it, since those spicy delights kept avoiding my life path incessantly 😀

I have searched the Web high and low and came across some amazing blogs, recipes and inspirational links. A feast for your gourmet soul. Enjoy it before waltzing to the kitchen and beginning to knead the dough. All yours and here 4u.

Cinnamon Rolls (Receta de Rollitos de Canela)

The World’s Easiest Cinnamon Rolls

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/cinnamon-rolls-recipe.html

http://www.kingarthurflour.com/recipes/cinna-buns-recipe

I decided to combine some of the recipes, my favs were recetasamericanas.com and kingarthurflour.com.

For the dough I mixed in a large bowl:

  • 1 cup lukewarm milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup unsalted softened butter
  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 pack instant yeas

I got a dough ball when all the ingredients mixed well, so I covered the bowl with a plastic film and I let it rest&rise for an hour (I use dry yeast, nevertheless, so it will basically grow in the oven when the heat activates the yeast completely). After an hour I extend the dough with a wooden roller and I fill it with:

  • melted butter
  • demerara sugar (best with the sandy texture!)
  • some tbs ground cinnamon

I make a roll and cut it into approx. 4 cm pieces, place them on a parchment paper covered tray (see picture) and bake at 180°C for approx. 20 minutes. Meanwhile I prepare the icing and for it I use:

  • 1/2 cup cream cheese (Philadelphia or similar)
  • 1/4 cup softened butter
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • some ground vanilla bean

I cover the rolls still in tray with the icing and let rest for an hour. After that the cinnamon rolls will be tempered but still soft and the icing will not be to liquid or sticky.

All in all, this recipe proved to be easy to execute and delicious to eat. Nevertheless, I will keep exploring this fantastic world of spices and I surely have to try the cinnamon rolls in Madrid and ask my brother in law to bring some from NY for the Summer. I have to broaden my horizons about this topic quite a great deal, so I will surely be coming back to you with some cinnamon roll varieties and new stories to share. Have a good rest of the week, 3 more workdays… 😀

Leave a Reply

